TATER -TOT- BRAT CASSEROLE

6 Mar

 

ttb

Okay , So I hear Ya!

ARE YOU KIDDING ME ?    THIS GUY IS USING    TATER-TOTS ?????

Now some of you probly like TATER-TOTS , and that’s okay …….. I guess.

You see  , when I was growing up ( in a Catholic  home ) the rule was you couldn’t eat meat on Fridays ,  or you would burn in hell for all eternity.

So my Mom would make Fish sticks and tater-tots for dinner on Friday , …… every Friday …….  for my whole life growing up  …….   FISH STICKS AND TATER-TOTS ……. EVERY FRIDAY !!!! …….   and No ,  there isn’t enough Catsup in the world to kill the taste of FISH STICKS AND TATER-TOTS.

What about a cheese pizza you may ask ?  ”  That fits the requirement of  No Meat Fridays ? ,     I asked my Dad ”

“NO ! ”   My Dad said ,  ”  a real Pizza has to have sausage on it ”  ,  So no Cheese pizza .

”  Eat your  fish sticks ! Your Mother made that for you and Your Mother doesn’t make  poison …. Eat it ! ”      So I ate it.

I didn’t like it then and I don’t like it now.

When I got married and had children of my own ,  I would not allow Fish sticks and tater tots even in the house ,  I hated them so bad .

 

But now  , somewhere along the line  ( I guess I was feeling delusional ) I saw this recipe and thought I might try it .   Mostly I think it  was for some of my fans that like the simpler  concoctions and for week night meals.

So , I gave this a try.

UNBELIEVABLE !!!       vin2   INCONCEIVABLE !!!!   

Not only was I able to stomach the tater tots  , I really like this dish !

 

Part of it is the simmering the brats in chicken stock  ,  browning them up in butter , and I’m guessing that the Tater -Tots are better seasoned than they were along time ago when I was a kid .

No matter , The combination of the Sharp cheddar cheese , potatoes ,  brats  , and the sprinkling of green onions brings out  a wonderful taste.

This is definitely one to add to your list of COMFORT FOODS.

cas5

 

 

1 package  ( 1  1/4 lb. uncooked brats ) ( you know Johnsonville are the only ones to get)    brt–   cut into 1 ” pieces with a very sharp knife.  If it’s not sharp you’re just going to be mushing them up . )

2 cups chicken broth ( I used 3 cups water and 4 bouillon cubes )

2 Tsp. butter

Extra virgin olive oil

1 ( 14 oz. ) can sauerkraut – drain don’t rinse  frank

1 ( 10 oz. ) can condensed cheddar cheese soup   ccs

3/4 cup milk

1 package TATER-TOTS ( I was going to buy Ore-Ida thinking  it would  taste better because of brand name and it cost more ,   but I got the store brand and it was just fine )

2 cups  sharp cheddar cheese

1 small bunch green onions – chopped

 

Turn oven to 450′

In a large sauce pan add the chicken stock and the brats bring to a boil

Lower heat and simmer for 12 minutes

Drain brats and add butter to same pan with a little olive oil (  the olive oil raises the flashpoint and it won’t burn as easily )

Brown brats, do not overcrowd, do  it in two  batches.

Spoon sauerkraut into a greased 9 x 13 casserole dish.  pam

Top with brats

In a bowl , whisk  soup and milk together .   Pour over brats .

Top with tater tots and bake for 25 min .

Sprinkle cheese over tater-tots and then the onions .

Bake for 5 more minutes.

Remove from oven and let rest for 10 minutes .

 

Eat and Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

