PRODUCT REVIEW – more toys for the kitchen

9 Aug

Okay , So I have been looking at these things since they came out about a year ago.  The first ones  were green and

I do not like green eggs and ham

I do  not like them in my house

I do not like them one little ounce

I will not share them with my spouse

STOP !!!!!!……… don’t get me started ,

So,  anyway I kept looking at them everytime I passed by them at the store and thinking I might try one “AS SEEN ON TV ”

Plus  , the Teflon/anodized pan I have at home is pretty scrapped up . (Yes, because SOMEONE has been using steel utensils on it )

Well, I’m at Wally world and lo and  behold :  There is a entire aisle of ceramic and anodized pans  , pots , and baking dishes.

And yes , Virginia ,  there is a white one.     So I have to compare it to each and every other pan (about a dozen ) on  :   size , weight ,  ergonomic feel of the handle , balance  , color handle texture.  ( stuff is important  and I burn about a hour  comparing ))  So the GREENLIFE is the heaviest bottom one I can find. For proper heat distribution ,  although it really isn’t very heavy.  Its $30 dollars so I go for it .

SO , the company according to their care of cookware section :

Do not use extra virgin olive oil or oil sprays
as it cannot withstand high heating and will leave a thin carbonized
layer on the non-stick coating.

Well I always use Extra-virgin olive oil  but I am not deep frying in this pan and it seems just fine. I also use nylon and wood  utensils .

Here is a good article from THE KITCHEN

Nylon vs. Stainless Steel Kitchen Tools: Which Is Better?

If you’re like us, you have a mix of both (plus a wooden spoon or two). But which do you reach for most often? What would you recommend for someone stocking a kitchen for the first time? Here are our pros and cons.

Our bottom line advice: No one needs a full set of either nylon or stainless steel cooking tools. We’re not big fans of sets of anything (pots and pans, knives—buy those individually), but those already-stocked crocks of utensils are overkill. Here are our opinions on plastic vs. metal.

Nylon/Plastic: PROS
• If you use nonstick cookware, enamel-coated dutch ovens, or cast-iron skillets, you need utensils that won’t scratch it. We usually reach for a wooden spoon in these cases, but it’s helpful to have a spatula or bigger spoon in a forgiving material.
• Nylon utensils are flexible. We find they scrape corners better, and if you cook a lot of fish, you probably want a flexible fish spatula.

Nylon/Plastic: CONS
• They’re hard to clean. Eggs, cream sauces, and rice tend to stick to them, and we often end up using a fingernail to scrape them off (a scrub brush doesn’t always work on ours).
• They’re plastic. They can be ugly, and they can melt.

Stainless Steel: PROS
• Thinner and sturdier, which makes them better for sliding under cookies or lifting a heavy piece of meat.
• Easier to clean than plastic.
• Better for scraping pans, if necessary. We find a wooden spoon is great for deglazing, but if we’re, say, tossing a pan of roasted vegetables and want to scrape bits off of the bottom, a metal spatula helps.

Stainless Steel: CONS
• Sometimes the sound of metal scraping metal makes our skin crawl (are we alone?).
• Usually more expensive.

As annoying as it can be to clean our nylon tools, we use them much more often, along with wooden spoons. Here’s what we’d buy if we were starting from scratch:

• One metal spatula
• One nylon spatula
• One nylon slotted spoon
• Two pairs of tongs (one nylon-tipped, one metal)
• Wooden spoons

There is a lot more info on the GREENLIFE page  – like they are not suitable for automatic  dishwashers , if that’s important to you.

Not important to me  ,  I  AM  , the ,  not – automatic  dish washer at my house.

So to review this pan :

I like it . It cooks evenly  and is real slick .   As in nothing seems to stick to it.   I always throw a little oil in , mostly for the flavoring .

I haven’t put it in the oven because I have a CLASSIC style and it has a silicone grip ( which does not get hot by the way, WAY COOL !  Cool.. cold …hip… neato …….         it’s an ambiguity …….forgit it )  and I just can’t get a grip on putting  a rubber thing in the oven.

They sell silicon cookie  sheets so I guess they are fine.  I just haven’t done it yet .

Clean up is a snap.  One  wipe with a paper towel and a rinse  and It’s clean.

For the oven I still use a cast iron pan,

LODGE makes cast-iron cook ware with no need to season it – it’s heat-treated

What is Heat-Treated Iron?

Lodge’s line of Heat-Treated Iron is made just like our traditional cast iron, then put through a patented heat treating process that inhibits rust. Yes, you read correctly, this cast iron is resistant to rust! The iron is heated in a special oven at high temperatures, changing the molecular structure of the iron. This is not a coating of any kind. The process is very similar to blued or case-hardened steel, like you would find on certain gun barrels or tools. The superior heat retention and other benefits of cooking in cast iron are all the same. All of these Heat-Treated products are pre-seasoned as well.

While we still recommend cleaning these pieces in the usual way (see video here), there is much less worry involved if proper care is not followed. These pieces have even survived hundreds of cycles in a commercial 2-minute dishwasher without showing any signs of rust. Keep in mind that your seasoning will have to be maintained and periodically restored as usual.

They are at Farm and Fleet  by me

or pick one up at the thrift store / garage sale  and google it to see how to SEASON it.

After many uses it will develop a coating and will be as slick as any Teflon pan.

Leave a Reply

