HONEY MUSTARD CATFISH

18 Jul

Catfish Fisherman Stock Photo                                Large Snapping Turtle in Pond Stock Photos                                                                 Pan Fried Fish - Gluten Free   Okay , So I saw a new recipe on the TV. It was at A Soul Food Café  down South Carolina way.   Looked really good so I had to try it

. First I needed some catfish and I sure am not going to pay $5.99 a pound for bone in farm raised Catfish thawed out at the store. ( you may have to ……  or you could use cod I suppose )   I  , on the other hand ,   am able to catch catfish from  ” dusk to dawn ” as the song say’s .   Not really ,  but I do know that chicken liver for bait and getting out to the lake while it’s still dark are key ingredients for a stringer of catfish.    So since I get up at O – Dark hundred anyway    I thought I would go fishing instead of sleeping in like you are suppose to do on the  week-end.    So , I get to the lake bait up my hook and settle down with a hot cup of coffee  to wait for dinner.    Well ,  it’s not long and I catch my first fish … Oh yeah, I know what I’m doing.   Then I spend the next two hours   Just missing ,  hooking,  MR Catfish.   I end up holding the line between  my fingers  and  seeing how many cuss words I remember.

But wait ,  I finally snag one .   Damm near pulls the rod out of my hand ,   and I have my big river rod.    Yeah baby,    this is one BIGG FISH.   About ten minutes later I get it up to the bank ( see picture above  — top  right   )    It’s about a 20 lb. Snapping turtle ,   shell had to be   18  inches across.

Well , I says …..   turtle soup will be good too !!

Just as I am about to get it to the bank the line breaks and back to the bottom of the lake he goes

. Now that was exciting ,  Jess.

Just fish for dinner will be fine.

Don’t be shaking your head   ….   this isn’t a Fish story…………….

4 catfish fillets

3/4 cup buttermilk

1 egg

2  tbsp. honey

2 tbsp.  yellow mustard

1 . fresh squeezed lemon juice

2 tsp. Thyme

a couple of shakes of hot sauce

A little Salt and Pepper

2/3 cup yellow cornmeal

1/3 cup flour

2 tsp. Paprika

Salt and Pepper

Oil ( peanut ? )  or Crisco

Pat fillets dry  —  with a paper towel  –   not just your hand.

In a bowl mix buttermilk , egg  honey , mustard , lemon juice , Thyme , hot sauce.  Mix it good.

Mix cornmeal and flour , Paprika and a little salt and pepper in a shallow pan.

Heat oil to 375′ ( get a candy thermometer ,  you’re going to be using it a lot )

Dip fillets in buttermilk mixture .

Then dredge them in Cornmeal mixture Then Lay them gently into the hot oil . Details about Slotted Spatula Stainless Steel Blade Wooden Handle    ( this is a fish spatula ,  I just got one and it comes in handy for all kinds of delicate turnings )

Cook a few minutes …then carefully turn over and cook until golden brown.

Drain on paper towels

Serve with fresh lemon slices and tartar sauce….. maybe your favorite Cole slaw too!

Eat and Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

