CROCK POT CHICKEN TIKKA MASALA

9 Feb
Okay  so this is a really good dish  . It’s  from India and I think it’s a good intro to Indian cuisine if you have not tried  any.
  TIME OUT !!   Don’t be getting excited and telling me how you don’t like curry so you’re not going  to like this.   First off,     this version doesn’t have curry in it so settle down.

Educational Moment –

What is Curry?

Written by Shonali Burke on 20 March 2011

A couple of months after I first landed in the U.S., my husband and I went down to San Diego for a family wedding.

It was my first time meeting his family, so I was a little nervous, not to mention excited about seeing San Diego. At the wedding (which was lovely), I remember sitting down to chat with one of his close relatives. No doubt, in trying to make me feel comfortable, she asked me what part of India I was from.

Then she proclaimed, “I don’t like curry.”

I was a little taken aback by this, but rolled with it. I started trying to explain that “curry” can mean several different things, but nope, she wasn’t having it. So, after a while, I gave up.

Over the years, I’ve noticed continuing confusion about what exactly “curry” is. So I’m here to set the record straight.

Aren’t you lucky?!

Curry is a leaf

'Curry Leaf'? Need ID. | by TaranRampersad

If you like South Indian food, you like curry leaves. Because “Southie” food is practically impossible to prepare without this wonderful leaf.

It actually comes from a tree that is native to India, and you are unlikely to find it anywhere other than Indian or South Asian grocery stores, though I’ve seen more and more places that sell them online (I’ve never bought them online so far).

Curry leaves are wonderfully aromatic, and while I often use them when making South Indian food, I also sometimes use them when cooking Thai and other Asian meals.

Curry   is a spice

 

 

 

Curry powder isn’t a single powdered spice but, rather, a combination of several spices, much like garam masala. It was developed by the British after they colonizedkr,  India, for which I must be grateful, since I love it.

Curry powder is extremely fragrant while also being quite delicate in nature.So when I use it, I try to ensure it’s the primary spice I use (as in the Oriental Beef Stir Fry with an Indian Twist recipe I shared the other day), rather than overwhelm it with several others. Here’s a recipe for curry powder by Aliza Green, if you’re interested (I haven’t tried it, but it looks good).

Me, I just buy mine at the Indian store (though I have started making my own garam masala at home).

Curry is a dish with gravy

 

 

 

This is probably the misconception about Indian food that drives me craziest. Not every Indian dish is a “curry.”

No!!!!!!!!!

You see, when we say we’re going to “make a curry,” we mean we’re going to make a dish with gravy, as opposed to a dry preparation.

So that beef stir-fry recipe? Not a curry. This “kofta curry” pictured above (“kofta” is Hindi for meatball and yes, I will post the recipe soon)? Curry.

You can have curries that are made with completely different bases for the gravy; yogurt, tomatoes, onion… the possibilities are endless.

If you’re going to have “a curry,” you’re going to have a dish that has gravy in it. Unless you’re British and “going out for curry,” which means you’re just going to find the nearest Indian restaurant or takeout and gorge yourself because Indian food is where it’s at, baby.

So. There you go. Curry, curry and more curry.

Back to the recipe

Basmati rice – try it your gonna like it

28         oz. can crushed tomatoes

1 onion  – minced

3 cloves garlic  – smashed, minced

1 tbsp. ginger root – – minced or grated on you new microplane

2 tbsp. garam masala – buy a small jar you are going to use it because you will get hooked on Indian food.

1 tbsp. brown sugar

1  tsp. ground cumin

1 /2 tsp. ground coriander

2 lb boneless chicken thighs – or – 4 chicken breasts cubed and frozen. they will hold up better and be jucier if you freeze them

1 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 cup plain yogurt

handful cilantro – chopped

Put chicken in crock pot  first.

Then mix every thing else  everything  ( except yogurt and cilantro )  together and pour on top.

Cook on low for 6 – 8 hours

Make basmati rice according to directions on bag

Stir  in yogurt  , a ladle on top of rice and sprinkle with cilantro

Eat and Enjoy !

One Response to “CROCK POT CHICKEN TIKKA MASALA”

  1. Cheryl February 12, 2014 at 7:10 pm #

    I am so glad that I found your website. I am a lucky woman. I have a man that takes me out dancing during the week and then gets up and works his ass off. He is about the hardest working guy you will ever meet and deserves to be treated well by his lady. I feel that when he gets home he deserves to relax and be treated to a good meal. I look forward to fixing many of the recipes shown on your site for him.

Leave a Reply

