ITALIAN SAUASAGE HOT PEPPER BAKE

14 Apr
 

So, I just got back from our trip out east to see my grand babies get baptized. On the way back we stopped at the Fiesta factory in West Virginia, across the river there is a great little restaurant.

ALL that to get to this

, Casa DE Emanuel is a great restaurant in East Liverpool, Ohio.  The Food IS great and I met the Owner, Lou Vilino and asked him if I could relay this recipe to you.  Of course he would not give me his recipe but it has inspired me to come up with one as close as close as I can .

I think this does it justice.

Marinara sauce:
2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 can dice tomatoes
1 small onion dices
2 tsp basil
sugar salt pepper

Heat oil in frying pan , saute onions. Add tomatoes juice and basil, alittle sugar, salt and pepper ,continue to saute until tomatoes break down. About 20 min.

Extra virgin oil

1 lb Hot italian sausage ( or good Hungarian Garlic Sausage if you can get it)
2 red peppers
1/2 cup yellow Hungarian hot pepper rings ( or fresh you can find them)
3 cloves garlic
Penne pasta
1 cup Mozzarella cheese – shredded
Parmesan Cheese
2 TBSP Parsley – chopped

Heat oil in frying pan add smashed garlic and saute until brown, remove garlic.
Remove sausage from casing and brown in oil.
At the same time put red peppers on gas stove top and char skin. Keep turning with a pair of tongs. when completely black put into a brown paper bag for 15 min. the remove skin and chop into 1/2″ squares.
Cook pasta according to box directions al dente
Remove sausage from pan and toss in yellow and red peppers . saute until just heated
Toss pasta peppers, sausage and sauce and 1 TBSP parsley together.
Mix in Mozzarella cheese put in small casserole dish and bake in oven at 400′ for 15 min.
Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and place under broiler for 2 min.
Sprinkle with rest of parsley and serve

Eat and Enjoy!

One Response to “ITALIAN SAUASAGE HOT PEPPER BAKE”

  1. Kent Oikle May 3, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

    R,

    Thanks for sharing your blog with me! I also have shared the site with my wife. I asked her to share with you the fish sausage recipe I talked to you about. The binder was eggs and I think corn starch, you asked and I can’t remember! I will get it to you at work. When we go to WM I will tell you the type of fish that was used because we can’t remember. As you know we did not eat it at anytime plain, only in a sausage form or blackened. THANKS AGAIN!!!

    KO

Leave a Reply

